

Circular Letter 2025/01

08 January 2025

Subject: NOMINATION OF CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS OF THE COMMITTEES AND SUBSIDIARY BODIES FOR THE WORK PERIOD 2025-2027

To: Member States

Dear Member State,

I write to you in connection with the appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs for the coming work period 2025-2027 and I invite you to nominate candidates for vacant positions as soon as possible and before 10 February 2025.

The following is conditional upon the General Assembly's approval of the draft General Regulations and the establishment of Committees and subsidiary bodies as suggested.

Background

It is specified in the draft General Regulations Article 10.3 and 10.4 that:

"10.3 Each Committee and subsidiary body shall have a Chair and Vice Chair appointed by the Council for a period of three years in between regular sessions of the General Assembly. The term for Chairs and Vice Chairs shall not exceed two consecutive periods of three years unless the Council approves the extension of the term.

10.4 Nominations for these positions may be made by Member States or the Secretary-General from amongst nationals of the Member States. When a vacancy arises, the Secretariat will inform Member States of the vacancy and seek nominations. The Secretariat will inform the Council of all nominations and the Council will appoint the Chairs and Vice Chairs."

This means that the current Chairs and Vice Chairs will, in principle, step down once the draft General Regulations are approved by the General Assembly. It also implies that some of the existing Chairs and Vice Chairs is eligible for reappointment.

The present Chairs and Vice Chairs were appointed at the 78th session by the Associations Council on 3 June 2023 for a four-year period 2023-2027.



Committee Chairs and Vice Chairs

The Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Committees and subsidiary bodies - that can be appointed or re-appointed - are as follows:

Aids to Navigation Requirements and Management (ARM): Chair: Vacant Vice Chair: Ms. Natasha McMahon, Canada

Engineering and Sustainability (ENG): Chair: Mr. Alwyn Williams, United Kingdom Vice Chair: Mr. Michel Cousquer, France

Digital Technology Committee (DTEC): Chair: Mr. Hideki Noguchi, Japan Vice Chair: Vacant

Vessel Traffic Services (VTS): Chair: Ms. Monica Sundklev, Sweden Vice Chair: Mr. Dirk Eckhoff, Germany

Policy Advisory Panel (PAP) Chair: Vacant Vice Chair: Vacant

Legal Advisory Panel: Chair: Christina Schneider, Germany Vice Chair: Thomas Arculus, United Kingdom

Appointment and procedure

Member States are invited to send an official letter to nominate candidates for the vacant positions of Chair and Vice Chair of the Committees and subsidiary bodies for the work period as soon as possible and before 10 February 2025 to secgen@iala.int

Yours sincerely,

7 Ununtia

Francis Zachariae Secretary-General